Aeolistic


Jambo!
June 11, 2010, 5:42 pm
Filed under: Africa, Topical Ramblings, Travel

I’m having a chill-out day today, so I decided to write a short update. Kenya is, as expected, photogenic and thought-provoking. It’s a beautiful but blunt reminder of how fortunate I am.

I’ve already taken a few hundred photos; can’t wait to share them.

My brother and I went on a mini tour of Mombasa yesterday. It’s amazing how cities are similar across the world – there were parts that reminded me of Jakarta, Guadalajara and Marrakech. Mombasa means mixture, which I guess is to be expected of a coastal town. At the end of the afternoon, we went into the old town. I was wearing my Arabic ‘Fatima’ necklace and so many people came up to me saying ‘ Fatima! Fatima!” We got into an awkward situation with a local tour guide who was trying to overcharge us. A quick “Assalamualaikum” from me managed to diffuse it. I find the allegiance of people to Islam amazing sometimes – the man’s need for money was usurped by his loyalty to his faith. I’ve read so much about how Islam is supposed to take precedence over all else, but rarely have I been in situations where that is put into practice. Very interesting.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good to hear you are still using Arabic to put people in their place when they cross the line!! ahahaaa

Comment by kwejcblwecgu




Leave a Reply

