Aeolistic


Bejewelled

I’ve been considering a jewellery post for a little while and decided to just get on with it.

I can often be seen wearing these two necklaces. The top one is a small medallion bearing the Shahada.

I’ve been a fan of kitsch things since my mid teens. I can’t explain why pure tack gives me such a lift, but it does. For my 18th birthday, I bought myself a charm bracelet heaving with gumball charms. I wore it until its untimely death when all of its charms had fallen off.

I’m pretty lazy when it comes to two things: high heels and earrings. I wear flat shoes and stud earrings all the time. I own nice pairs of heels and dangly earrings, but I’m quite low-maintenance when it comes to these kind of things. Here are a few pairs from my ever-expanding collection of studs. A friend of mine noticed my tendency towards studs and bought me a pair of dangly earrings to encourage me to wear them. I might have to give it a go.

Here are a few of my favourite pairs of earrings that aren’t studs. I might be spotted wearing a pair of these on the odd occasion, though they’ll usually find their way into a zip pocket in my handbag halfway through the evening.

A few pieces of jewellery come from further afield than the UK high street. The top bangles are from Singapore; middle bangles are from Morocco; turquoise necklace is from Morocco; green beaded necklaces is from Thailand.

I love jewellery and accessories in the shape of animals. This bear ring is one example – I also have lion and a wolf rings, and belts bearing elephants and horses.

I don’t tend to wear women’s watches because I like a good chunk of metal on my wrist. I’ve acquired two fake men’s Breitling watches over the past few years, which I swear I could use instead of ankle weights if I wanted to go for a power walk.

As an avid fan of jewellery and accessories, I’m always fascinated by the jewellery boxes of others. Shallow though it sounds, you can learn something about someone from their jewellery box. I, for example, like my surroundings to be cute, warm and aesthetically pleasing. I’m learning the hard way, however, that less is more (as demonstrated by the sheer volume of jewellery I own). I used to dress myself up a bit like a Christmas tree, dotting myself with shiny things all over. Having calmed down slightly in terms of personal style, I tend to stick with statement pieces now like one huge ring or necklace. I’m something of a magpie when it comes to jewellery and I tend to fall (and stay!) in love with things. When I’m out and about, I tend to see magpies everywhere. It’s rare for me to leave the house and not see one on any given day – I think we’re just kindred spirits.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

