Aeolistic


Little darling it seems like years since it’s been clear.

I went to Liverpool for work a few weeks ago. Despite some pretty picture opportunities, it didn’t leave me with a positive impression overall. The International Slavery Museum and the Liverpool docks in general really did stir the history student in me. However, the three people with whom I was walking around – born in Bolivia, Colombia and Afghanistan, respectively – were treated very badly; they were bashed into and stared at. Whereas in London I feel anonymous, in Liverpool I felt heavily scrutinised. The trip made it very clear that I have been spoilt in the London bubble, despite my occasional despair at its everyday aggressiveness (…on the rush hour train, in queues, etc).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

